One of the most popular medicines on the market for erectile dysfunction, millions of Cialis prescriptions are made out each year for patients across the globe. In just the first three months of 2014, Lilly reported $532m in revenue from sales of this drug alone.

But however impressive an endorsement of Cialis this figure may be, for a patient looking to buy ED treatment for the first time, knowing which to choose can still be a tricky prospect.

There are several medicines available to buy in the UK for erectile dysfunction, and each has its own set of characteristics which make it unique.

Furthermore, not everyone is suited to erectile dysfunction medication; and some particular products may be less suitable for persons with certain medical conditions than others.

To help those who might not be entirely convinced about the efficacy of Cialis, we thought we would collate the following: a series of reviews from various sites, by patients who have used it.

Drugs.com

"I've been using Cialis for about 5 years now after having problems staying hard during sex. [...] The doc prescribed cialis 10mg and the difference was immediate. I try to take the 10mg pill at least 1 hour before sex, but really the medicine works 36 to 48 hours later, so you can quite easily take one in the morning if you're not too sure when you will require an erection that day."

frequentraveller, November 6, 2015

"I am 53 years old. I took this for the first time last week [...] I was sceptical at first. I noticed that I achieved an erection fairly easily about an hour after taking the medication. [...] After work that day, I was still able to achieve rock hard erections as though I was still in my twenties."

- Canadian guy, October 26, 2015

"Once I hit the age of 50 I noticed that my bedroom performance was getting poorer. I went for a checkup at the doctors and had various blood tests but all came back fine. [...] I purchased a 3 month supply of Cialis online and have now been taking it for about a week. After a lot of research I started on a daily dose of 5mg and will be reducing this to 2.5mg from tomorrow which I think should be perfect for me. All I can really say is WOW!! No side effects at all. Erections are solid and easy to achieve. Flaccid state is much larger and my confidence has rocketed. God bless the scientists."

- Snowman911, October 18, 2015

"55 year old, light smoker and drinker, reasonably fit (hill walker/mountain biker averaging 20-25 miles per week) but like many guys my age have added 15 pounds since I was 18. Started to notice difficulty getting [erections] over the past few years, would happen, but took a lot of work. Investigated the various treatment options and settled on Cialis 10mg and wow, I am impressed. 36 hours later I'm still able to [perform]. Feel like I'm 18 again."

- Little Elvis, March 8, 2015

"For several years, my husband had problems achieving or maintaining an erection. For a while, he took Viagra, which worked well, but there's no spontaneity [...] Then, his M.D. suggested Cialis [...] Our sex life is incredible [...] He can take it on Friday, and any time, any place that weekend we can have fabulous sex. We're also enjoying extended sex again."

- Elle Femme, January 31, 2015

"My husband just turned 60 and started having some erectile dysfunction issues. His doctor recommended Cialis. I want to shout from a mountain top how wonderful it is. My husband is back and we are both generally much happier."

- He's back! December 19, 2014

"I began to have issues maintaining an erection due to medications I take for other health issues. I am young and it is extremely embarrassing. My wife was also unfulfilled and unhappy that we were not being intimate very often. I asked my doctor for help and he gave me Cialis. 5mg to start. It works amazingly well. Once you get the desire you get a nice long lasting erection. I highly recommend Cialis."

- Reviewer, November 7, 2014

"I'm a 25 year old male who has suffered from anxiety in the past. When I was prescribed anti-anxiety medication it really affected the erections I was getting, even now that I've stopped taking it it's almost like I forgot how to get and maintain an erection. I would only ever really get half hard erections, even in the morning. I was pretty disheartened and afraid to try anything else with any other girls for fear of more embarrassment. I tried Cialis and WOW... All the performance anxiety was gone and as soon as I was stimulated I was able to achieve and maintain an erection until climax. I was able to switch positions with ease and even switch rooms without my erection going anywhere!"

- Glass Joe, November 5, 2014

RXlist

For a year or so I was having erections that were either not hard enough for penetration or faded too soon. Cialis solved the problem. Really great results. Within an hour of taking a 10mg tablet I can be very hard and not have to worry about losing it. We're enjoying extended sex again. Maybe because I'm staying very hard, my orgasms and ejaculation are much more intense.

- Peter, February 06

Lasts a few days and no side effects. Very good!

- Reviewer, September 18

Druglib.com

Rating: 10/10

Effectiveness: Highly Effective

Side effects: None

Cialis taken as prescribed. Had immediate positive effect as promised, strong, long-lasting erection. Intercourse possible for long period of time- approx 2 days. Had no side-effects at all. Am very satisfied and [would] recommend. Took tadalafil 20 mg in the evening after meal. Had erection approx 30 min later. Erection lasted for 2 days- had never experienced such long-lasting erection.

- 59-year-old male patient

PEGym

I'm a fit, hockey-playing, very healthy 36 year old [...] NEVER had ED symptoms or problems ever. This year is a big year, and I'm going through lots of life changes. [...] All of it Resulted in some wicked ED- just nothing happening. [...]

My excellent doctor prescribed me Cialis 10mg to reinstill some confidence (and maybe some libido) as the last two months have been rather miserable in the bedroom. I've been able to achieve erections, with masturbation, but without stimulation the erections disappear.

I took my 10mg cialis around 6 pm expecting the possibility of sex around 10pm. [...] I achieved an erection as expected around 10pm, and had intercourse. Erection quality was absolutely a 10. [...]

Cialis has been an amazing revelation for me in a few short hours and I'm glad I have some left, for those special occasions like a romantic weekend. [...] For a confidence booster, and a temporary band-aid for psychological ED, Cialis is a little miracle.

- forkhead, 05-04-2012

For more on how Cialis works, and what health considerations you should take into account before purchasing it, please refer to our information pages below.